DEPARTMENT
OF
COMPUTER SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING

 

Pondicherry Engineering College, Puducherry, India

Facility Faculty Courses offered Syllabus HOME
Combined block of ECE and CSE (1st floor)

Professor & Head
Dr. D. Loganathan,M.Sc.(Tech.)., Ph.D.,
(Specialization: Image Processing, Information Security)
(Ph: Off. (0413)2655281 ext.451 Res.:9486018682
e-mail: hod.cse@pec.edu
)

The Department aims at providing high quality training to students through the latest in computer technology. In order to maintain the standard of education, the Department constantly upgrades the academic syllabi so as to keep the students well trained to deal with changing trends in the field of Computer Science and Engineering. The Department offers B.Tech. (CSE),  M.Tech. (Distributed Computing), M.Tech. (Information Security),  , MCA and Ph.D. programmes. The Department places emphasis on Component Technology, Distributed Computing, Information Security, High Speed Networks, Wireless and Mobile Networks, Agile Programming Methodologies, Language Technologies, Software Architecture, Software metrics, and several other recent topics. The Choice Based Credit System is followed for PG programmes which enables the selection of subjects by students themselves and confers grades relative to the peer's performance. The curriculum of all courses are designed in such a way so as to enable students to carry out major and minor projects in leading industries/institutions, besides their regular classes and seminars. The students of the Department have done projects in major companies like TCS, HCL, RAMCO, CTS, NatureSoft, NAL, ISRO, NLC, IGCAR etc.

The Department regularly organizes a series of lectures by academicians and professionals of the highest repute, which lay stress on the latest innovative technologies in the field of Computer Science and Engineering and Information Technology.

Professors

Name

Extension Numbers

Specialization

Phone / E-mail

Dr. P. Thambidurai, M.E., Ph.D.
(HOD: 30.08.1999 - 14.08.2006)

453

Natural Language Processing, Image Processing, Multimedia Databases, QoS, Distributed Scheduling

0413-2655719, 9894013658
ptdurai@pec.edu

Dr. K. Vivekanandan,  B. E., M. Tech.,Ph.D.,
(HOD:14.08.2006 - 03.09.2009)
456

Software Engineering, Agile Programming

9443777795
k.vivekanandan@pec.edu
[Home Page]

Dr.N.Sreenath, M.Tech.,Ph.D.(IIT-M).,
(HOD: 03.09.2009 - 27.9.2012 )
451

High speed networks, Optical Networks

0413 - 2236146 9443289642
nsreenath@pec.edu
[Home Page]

Dr.D.Loganathan, M.Sc.(Tech.), Ph. D
HOD since 27.9.2012

475

Image Processing
Information Security

0413-2250318
9486018682
drloganathan@pec.edu
Dr. M. Sugumaran, M.Sc.,M.Phil.,M.Tech., Ph.D 477

Algorithms, Theoretical Computer Science, Computer Networks

9488829865
sugu@pec.edu

Dr. R. Manoharan, M.Tech., Ph.D., 481

High Speed Networks, Internet Technology, Software Engineering

9443468480
rmanoharan@pec.edu

Dr. F. Sagayaraj Francis, M.Tech., M.B.A., Ph. D., 482

Database Systems, Graphics, Automata & Management

9443467590
fsfrancis@pec.edu

Dr. G. Zayaraz, B.Tech., M.Tech., Ph. D., 483

Software Architecture
Information Security

9443958140
gzayaraz@pec.edu

Dr.E. Ilavarasan, M.C.A., M.Tech., Ph. D 484

Distributed Systems, Computer Architecture

0413-2257799, 9443084714
eilavarasan@pec.edu

Associate Professors

Name

Extension Numbers

Specialization

Phone / E-mail
Dr. Ka. Selvaradjou, A.M.I.E.T.E., M.Tech., Ph.D., 469

Microprocessors, Computer Hardware & Sensor Networks

9444684258
selvaraj@pec.edu

Dr. (Mrs).R.Kalpana, B.Tech., M.Tech., Ph. D.,   OOD, Distributed Computing, Middleware Technology

9443051212
rkalpana@pec.edu

Dr. A. Amuthan, B.Tech., M. E., Ph. D.,  

Software Engineering , Computer Networks, Network Security

09444104373

amuthan@pec.edu

Assistant Professors

Dr.S.Lakshmana Pandian, B.E., M.E., Ph. D.,    

Language Technologies, Compiler Design

9443101692
lpandian72@pec.edu

Dr. (Mrs.) K. Saruladha, B.Tech., M.Tech., Ph.D.,   Distributed Systems

0413-2251153, 9442396080
charuladha@pec.edu

Mrs. J. Jayabharathy, B.Tech., M.Tech.,   Distributed Computing

0413-2601338, 9443292660
bharathyraja@pec.edu

Dr.K.Sathiyamurthy, M.Tech.,Ph. D.,   Web Services and Internet Technology

09443459362
sathiyamurthyk@pec.edu

Mr. E. Karunakaran, M.Tech.,

9442156328,
ekaruna@pec.edu

Dr.N. Sivakumar, B.Tech., M.Tech., Ph.D., MHRM

Database Management System, Computer Graphics

9840901054 sivakumar11@pec.edu

Ms.R. Sarala, B.Tech., M.Tech.,

Computer Networks, Software Engineering

9442366902
sarala@pec.edu

Mr.J.Kumaran @ Kumar, M.C.A.,M.Tech.,  

AOP, Programming Languages

0413-2241954
kumaran@pec.edu

Dr.M. Thirumaran, B.Tech., M.Tech., Ph. D.,  

Automata Languages and Computation, Compiler Design, Web Technology

9894593367
thirumaran@pec.edu

Mrs. V. Akila, B.E., M.E.,  

9381053753
akila@pec.edu

Dr. (Mrs.) Salini P, B.Tech., M.Tech., Ph.D.,   Software Engineering, Information Security, Distributed Computing

9994738640
salini@pec.edu

Ms. M. Thenmozhi, B.Tech., M.E.,  

9944338226
thenmozhi@pec.edu

Ms. J. I. Sheeba, B.E., M.E.,  

9443084976
sheeba@pec.edu

Programmer

Mrs. R. Kavitha Kumar, M.Sc., M.Phil., -

OOPS, Web Design, Pervasive Computing

0413-2210800
rkavithakumar@pec.edu

Foreman

Sgt.P.Radhakrishnan, M.C.A., M.Tech., -

Software Engineering, Software Testing, Networking

9443477226
priyanaveenpk@pec.edu

Junior Instructors

Mr. P. Sethuraman, B.Com, BLIS, M.C.A., 467

7598707910
sethu@pec.edu

Mr. N. Shanmugam, B.Com, DCPA, I.T.I, 464

9443459997
shan@pec.edu

Mechanics

Mr. K. Carounamourthy, B.Com. I.T.I., 469

8015362049
carouna@pec.edu

Mr. D. Soundramourty, B.Com, DCPA, I.T.I., -

9443128574
dsoundramourty@gmail.com

COURSES OFFERED
B.Tech in Computer Science & Engineering (72 students - Eight Semesters) Syllabus

M.Tech. Computer Science & Engineering [Distributed Computing Systems] (25 students - Four Semesters - Choice Based Credit System)

M.Tech. Computer Science & Engineering [Information Security] (18 students - Four Semesters - Choice Based Credit System)

M.C.A (Master of Computer Applications) (30 students -Six Semesters - Choice Based Credit System)

Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D)in Computer Science & Engineering


FACILITIES

  • Srinivasa Ramanujan Computing Centre: Equipped with state of the art machines including a Super Computer PARAM with transputers. This centre also functions as an Internet browsing Centre with 64Kbps-leased line from STPI.

  • Systems Laboratory: Equipped with three Pentium-III servers running on Red Hat Linux 7.0, Windows NT, Novell 5.0, and 29 Celeron Nodes and Other accessories.

  • Research Laboratory: Equipped with Pentium-III @ 550 MHz based systems with latest software including Image Analyst, GIS etc.,

  • Wireless LAN Laboratory: Equipped with two numbers of Intel Pentium-III @ 1 GHz servers, 35 numbers of Intel Pentium 4 @ 2 GHz based nodes (all multimedia enabled) with the state of the art fast wireless LAN technology.

  • Thin Client Technology Laboratory: Equipped with an imported SUN Ultra SPARC III @ 450 MHz based server and 35 numbers of SUN RAY 100 APPLIANCE with 24 bit graphics nodes, installed with latest version of Solaris bundled with C, C++, HPC software, Office Automation Suite, Oracle 8i development suite, Java software and iPlanet development suite etc.,

  • Microprocessor Laboratory: Equipped with INTEL'S 8085 and higher versions of Microprocessor trainer kits, Hewlett Packard 80 channel logic analyzer, 100 MHz Digital Storage Oscilloscope and PAL/PROM programmers.

  • Hardware & Troubleshooting Laboratory: Equipped with PC trainer kits, Printer trainer kit, LAN trainer, ABI-4000 Board Master - special diagnostic computer, IC tester, In-circuit emulators, Electronic Design and Drafting tools.

Facility Faculty Syllabus Courses offered HOME

(Last updated on 22.7.2014)

Home | Introduction/Faculty | General Information
Academics | Admissions | PEC News | Disclaimer